deutsch
home
Projects
Exhibitions
Texts
Videos
Contakt

 

 

Urban Storylines Transformed Into a Future Agenda

Re-naming Streets in the City of Vincent

During an artists in residence project REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT created 23 new street names that are presented at main intersections all over the City of Vincent in Western Australia. RG have held public dialogue sessions and collected information on current social and economic developments. Like the Grimm Brothers they listened to the storylines of urban dwellers and collected their narratives. The knowledge was transformed then into a future agenda for the citizens that appears in public space in the form of new street name signs.

Background
The City of Vincent is a part of the metropolitan area of Perth, Australia. The mining economy boom in Western Australia has caused a massive urban growth within the cities of Vincent and Perth. High employment and increasing incomes has affected the city development and it has become more densely populated. The infrastructure of the metropolitan area changed to house 1.3 million people. Perth's suburbs extend 90km North and South in a strip up to 40km wide. The expanding housing market in the suburbs affects the City of Vincent too.
RG understands a city as a collection of different functions. Future changes and developments should give the residents the chance for an active role in the community. Vincent can be a model for anticipative thinking and sustainable future strategies.

Analysis
Initially RG analysed the City from different perspectives, holding three dialogue sessions on the topics of Migration, the Aboriginal Perspective plus Housing and Economy. RG also met with individuals, representatives from the ethnic and religious communities, and advisors from the City of Vincent. RG researched and compiled information from reports, statistics and articles. The different STORYLINES that were accumulated represent challenges of community life in the present and future. The cognition was transformed into a public display of street name signs in order to raise a critical consciousness for changes in the future and to open a public dialogue to anticipate an integrated community life.

Transformation
RG proposes a FUTURE AGENDA as an outcome of a cognitive mapping in the form of street signs on cross roads in the five boroughs of Vincent. The existing street signs represent the colonial past including historic settler's names, geographic places of European descent and only a very small number of indigenous references. RG refers to the semiotic significance of the signs for the urban identity in the public intervention. The new street names present community visions and issues.
The street signs are attached under the existing signs; they appear in a similar design and are placed on crossroads with traffic lights. In order to give an overview on the course of the changed street names RG publishes a city map with the names and locations and a legend and provides the context.

Long term Effects
The project endeavours to sensitise the public on the future challenges in a changing urban area. The aim is to motivate self organised community activities. Even though the artists stay is temporary, the project itself is not limited to the public appearance of the signs. More important are the long term effects of community building. The project calls all citizens to engage in practical local ventures based on shared responsibility.

 

Urban Storylines from REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT on Vimeo.

 
 
click image below to download high resolution

 

 
download the map as PDF by clicking the image below
 
Wie die Gebrüder Grimm erfragte RG Storylines der Stadtbewohner und sammelten ihr Erzählungen. Das Wissen wurde in eine Zukunftsagenda übertragen, die im öffentlichen Raum in Form neuer Straßennamenschilder auftaucht.

English
home
Projekte
Ausstellungen
Texte
Videos
Kataloge/Editionen
Kontakt

 

urban storylines

transformed into a Future Agenda
Re-naming Streets in the City of Vincent

Während eines Artist in Residence Projektes erarbeitete REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT 23 neue Straßennamen, die an großen Straßenkreuzungen in der City of Vincent in Westaustralien erscheinen. Im Vorfeld hielt RG öffentliche Dialogveranstaltungen mit Bürgern der Stadt und sammelte Informationen zu aktuellen sozialen und ökonomischen Entwicklungen. Wie die Gebrüder Grimm erfragten sie die Storylines der Stadtbewohner und sammelten ihre Erzählungen. Das Wissen wurde dann in eine Zukunftsagenda übertragen, die im öffentlichen Raum in Form neuer Straßennamenschilder auftaucht.

Hintergrund
Die City of Vincent ist Teil der Metropolregion von Perth, Australien. Der Bergbauboom in Westaustralien brachte ein starkes urbanes Wachstum in den Städten Vincent und Perth mit sich. Eine hohe Beschäftigungsrate und steigende Einkommen wirken sich auf die Stadtentwicklung aus, und die Bevölkerung hat sich verdichtet.
Die Infrastruktur der Region änderte sich, um 1.3 Millionen Menschen zu beherbergen. Die Vorstädte von Perth erstrecken sich über 90km in Nord- Südrichtung und über 40km Breite. Der expandierende Wohnungsmarkt in den Vorstädten hat auch Auswirkungen auf die City of Vincent.
RG versteht eine Stadt als eine Gesamtheit verschiedener Funktionsbereiche. Zukünftige Änderungen und Entwicklungen sollen Einwohnern ermöglichen, eine aktive Rolle in der Gemeinschaft zu übernehmen. Vincent kann ein Modell für antizipatives Denken und nachhaltige Zukunftsstrategien sein.

Analyse
Zunächst analysierte RG die Stadt aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln mittels Dialogveranstaltungen zu den Themen Migration, Sichtweisen der Aborigines, sowie Wohnbau und Wirtschaft. RG traf auch Einzelpersonen und Mitglieder verschiedener ethnischer und religiöser Gemeinschaften und beriet sich mit Vertretern der City of Vincent. RG recherchierte und stellte Informationen aus Berichten, Statistiken und Artikeln zusammen. Die auf diese Weise gesammelten verschiedenen STORYLINES repräsentieren zukünftige und gegenwärtige Aufgaben der Gemeinschaft. Die Erkenntnisse wurden in eine öffentliche Installation von Straßennamenschildern übertragen, mit dem Ziel, ein kritisches Bewusstsein für zukünftige Veränderungen anzuregen und einen öffentlichen Dialog über die Schaffung eines ganzheitlichen Gemeinschaftslebens.

Transformation
Als Ergebnis der kognitiven Kartografierung schlägt RG eine Zukunftsagenda in Form der Straßennamenschilder an Verkehrskreuzungen in den fünf Stadtteilen von Vincent vor. Die bereits vorhandenen Straßennamen repräsentieren die koloniale Vergangenheit und beinhalten historische Namen erster Siedler, geographische Orte europäischer Herkunft und nur eine sehr kleine Zahl an Verweisen auf die Ureinwohner. RG bezieht sich in der Intervention auf die semiotische Bedeutung der Schilder für die urbane Identität. Die neuen Straßennamen stehen für gemeinschaftliche Zukunftserwartungen und -themen.
Die Straßennamenschilder sind unter den existierenden Schildern befestigt; sie erscheinen in der gleichen Gestaltung und befinden sich an Straßenkreuzungen mit Verkehrsampeln. Um einen Überblick über das Gebiet mit veränderten Straßennamen zu ermöglichen, gab RG einen Stadtplan heraus. Er enthält Namen und Orte, sowie eine Legende die Zusammenhänge deutlich macht.

Langzeiteffekte
Das Projekt strebt an, die Öffentlichkeit für die Herausforderungen der Zukunft in einem sich verändernden städtischen Raum zu sensibilisieren. Das Ziel ist es, selbstorganisierte gemeinschaftliche Aktivitäten anzuregen. Auch wenn die Anwesenheit der Künstler nur temporär ist, soll das Projekt nicht auf die öffentliche Erscheinung der Schilder begrenzt sein. Bedeutender sind die langfristigen Folgen für die Gestaltung der Gemeinde. Das Projekt fordert alle Einwohner auf, sich in lokalen Projekten auf der Basis gemeinsamer Verantwortung zu beteiligen.

 
 

 

 

Urban Storylines from REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT on Vimeo.

 
 
click image below to download high resolution

 

 
download the map as PDF by clicking the image below
 
Wie die Gebrüder Grimm erfragte RG Storylines der Stadtbewohner und sammelten ihre Erzählungen und urbane Legenden. Das Wissen wurde in eine Zukunftsagenda übertragen, die im öffentlichen Raum in Form neuer Straßennamenschilder auftaucht.
 
 
 
 
   
zurück