deutsch
home
Projects
Exhibitions
Texts
Videos
Contakt

 

 

The Bus To The Future

a community discussion on creating a sustainable future

download press release as pdf here

What would you call Your bus line that leads your city to the future?

This was the question posed by the German art collaborative REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT. The goal was to spur community thought and discussion on creating sustainable options in and around Downtown and throughout greater Columbus. Through interviews and a community workshop, suggested names were collected and displayed on bus stop signs and shelters. The art project stimulated a public conversation on the challenges and hopes for Columbus’ future.

In the framework of “Finding Time“, the Columbus Public Art 2012 program REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT realized the project in Columbus/ Ohio in cooperation with the bus company COTA.

During a field research of more than two weeks REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT rode several bus lines. The routes passed downtown, residential neighborhoods for middle class and lower middle class people, abandoned housing areas, poor neighborhoods with thrift stores and pawn shops and stereotypical shopping malls. The urban sprawl of the infrastructure is connected almost exclusively by car based roads and highway systems which divide communities and people over long distances.
During the research RG interviewed several representatives from institutions, organisations and initiatives of different professional backgrounds such as public transportation, urban and regional planning, social engagement, housing and environmental protection.

As a result a holistically oriented workshop took place. The workshop brought together representatives from different fields, for example COTA employees, representatives of the Afro-American and Hispanic minorities, the Humanity Department of the Ohio State University,  the Columbus College of Art and Design, the municipality and bike initiatives. The objective of the participative workshop was to identify indicators for a sustainable development. The workshop was divided into three parts. In part one the participants were asked to combine photographs taken during our bus rides with pictograms and key words from statements of the municipality, city institutions and the organisations and initiatives we had invited for the workshop. The participants assembled their personal combinations of these three modules in order to visualize their viewpoints and analyses of the city.

In part two participants showed their combination results and spoke about their associations and how this combination is connected to their professional and institutional or non-institutional backgrounds. Part three was about deepening the topics pointed out by several participants. Four working groups where arranged to discuss the future of mobility, energy, liveable communities and local potentials.
In the working groups participants discussed the weak points and potentials of the existing system: what to keep, what to drop, what to create in the near future to long term planning. One representative of each group presented the results to the auditorium for discussion.
RG transformed the results of the workshop into a future agenda and created a bus stop system which reflects the challenges of the future in urban environments. Additionally bus shelters and posters in the bus were used to invite customers to take part in the discussion about the future of their city.

in collaboration with Central Ohio Transit Authority www.cota.com

Columbus Public Art 2012 temporary art works in public spaces, curator: Malcolm Cochran

 
 
 
 
click images to download high resolution
 
 

 

installation of a poster at a bus shelter downtown Columbus/OH
 
bus stop sign: active living
 
COTA bus riders
 
What would you call YOUR bus line that leads your city to the future?
 
bus stop sign: Energy Efficiency
 
Please post your ideas at www.facebook.com/columbuspublicart2012
 
bus stop sign: To The Unknown
 
bus stop sign: Social Inclusion
 
bus stop sign: Reduce Speculation
 
workshop participants assembling images, icons and words
 
workshop participant presenting a combination
 
workshop results
 
turning car parks into power stations

English
home
Projekte
Ausstellungen
Texte
Videos
Kataloge/Editionen
Kontakt

 

The Bus To The Future

Entwicklung eines zukunftsorientierten Stadtmodells

download press release as pdf here

What would you call Your bus Line that leads your city to the future?

Mit dieser Frage regte REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT eine Diskussion um kommunale Interessen und nachhaltige Stadtentwicklung in Columbus/Ohio an. In Interviews und einem Workshop wurden Namensvorschläge gesammelt und auf Schildern an Bushaltestellen in Columbus angebracht. Das Projekt regt einen öffentlichen Diskurs über die Herausforderungen und Hoffnungen für die Zukunft der Stadt an.

Im Rahmen von “Finding Time“, dem Columbus Public Art 2012 Programm realisiert REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT ein Projekt in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Busunternehmen COTA. Die Central Ohio Transit Authority ist ein erfolgreiches Busunternehmen mit einer wachsenden Kundenzahl.

Während einer Feldstudie von mehr als zwei Wochen war REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT auf verschiedenen Buslinien von COTA unterwegs. Zu beobachten war, dass die überwiegende Zahl der Fahrgäste niedrigen Einkommensschichten entstammte, aber auch eine wachsende Zahl von Kunden, die sich gegen das Auto entschieden hatten. Die Buslinien führten durchs Stadtzentrum, durch Wohngebiete der Mittel- und unteren Mittelschicht, Gebiete mit verlassenen Häusern, arme Bezirke mit Gebrauchtwarenhändlern, Pfandhäusern und austauschbaren Shopping Centern. Die zersiedelte Infrastruktur wird fast ausschließlich über zahlreiche Straßen und Autobahnen erschlossen, welche Siedlungen und deren Bewohner voneinander isolieren.
Während der Recherche realisierte die RG auch zahlreiche Interviews mit Vertretern von Institutionen, Organisationen und Initiativen aus verschiedenen Bereichen, zum Beispiel öffentlicher Nahverkehr, Stadt- und Regionalplanung, Soziales, sowie aus dem Bausektor und Umweltschutz.

Als Ergebnis fand ein ganzheitlich ausgerichteter Workshop statt. Er brachte Menschen aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen zusammen: Mitarbeiter von COTA, Vertreter der Afroamerikanischen und hispanischen Minderheiten, Mitarbeiter der Ohio State Universität/Bereich Humanwissenschaften, Studenten und Lehrende des Columbus College of Art and Design, sowie Vertreter der Stadt und von Fahrradinitiativen. Ziel des partizipativen Workshops war es, Indikatoren für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung  zu erarbeiten. Der Workshop war in drei Teile gegliedert. Im ersten Teil kombinierten die Teilnehmer Fotos von unseren Bustouren mit Piktogrammen und den Schlüsselwörtern, die bei der Stadt und den Organisationen und Initiativen eine zentrale Rolle spielen. Die Workshopteilnehmer bildeten Kombinationen aus den drei Bausteinen, um ihre Ansichten und Gedankengänge über die Stadt zu visualisieren.

Im zweiten Teil reflektierten die Teilnehmer ihre Kombinationsergebnisse und sprachen über Assoziationen und wie diese in Verbindung zu ihrem Beruf und institutionellem oder nichtinstitutionellem Hintergrund stehen. Der dritte Teil wurde genutzt, um Themen, die von den Teilnehmern mehrfach genannt wurden, zu vertiefen. Vier Arbeitsgruppen wurden gebildet, um die Zukunft von Mobilität, Energie, gemeinsamen Lebensraum und lokale Potentiale zu diskutieren. In den Arbeitsgruppen diskutierten die Teilnehmer Schwächen und Potentiale des bestehenden Systems: Was ist erhaltenswert? Worauf kann man verzichten? Was muss mittelfristig und was langfristig geschaffen werden? Ein Sprecher jeder Gruppe stellte die Ergebnisse dem Auditorium zur Diskussion vor.
RG transformierte die Ergebnisse des Workshops in eine Zukunftsagenda. Es wurde ein Haltestellensystem entwickelt, das die Herausforderungen der Zukunft des urbanen Lebens reflektiert. Außerdem wurden Bushaltestellen und Plakate im Bus genutzt, um Fahrgäste an der Diskussion über ihre Stadt zu beteiligen.

in Zusammenarbeit mit Central Ohio Transit Authority www.cota.com

Columbus Public Art 2012 temporary art works in public spaces, Kurator: Malcolm Cochran

 

 
 
 
 
click images to download high resolution
 
 

 

   

 

Installation eines Posters in Downtown Columbus/OH
 
Haltestellenschild: Active Living
 
COTA Bus
 
What would you call YOUR bus line that leads your city to the future?
 
Haltestellenschild: Energy Efficiency
 
Please post your ideas at www.facebook.com/columbuspublicart2012
 
Haltestellenschild: To The Unknown
 
Haltestellenschild: Social Inclusion
 
Haltestellenschild: Reduce Speculation
 
Workshopteilnehmer erarbeiten Namensvorschläge für Haltestellen
 
Workshopteilnehmer präsentiert eine Kombination aus Fotos und Begriffen
 
Workshopergebnisse
 
Parkplätze als Energieerzeuger
   
zurück