deutsch
home
Projects
Exhibitions
Texts
Videos
Contakt

 

 

The Readymade Demonstration
re-staging the East German peaceful revolution

a project in the framework of Descent To Revolution by Bureau For Open Culture


REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT (RG) organized a performative event in the city center of Columbus Ohio. The participants reenacted one of the East German peaceful demonstrations from fall of 1989.
The idea is to stage a readymade demonstration and to look at the demonstration as a cultural technique.

The Demonstration uses the original slogans from 1989. The work is not about history, but about how we perceive our personal role in society.

In preparation of the demonstration RG held a Banner Workshop. After an open discussion the participants were invited to take part in the making of the banners.

The historic context
This peaceful movement led to the fall of the iron curtain and changed the geopolitical landscape of the world. The main slogan of this movement "Wir sind das Volk" - "We Are the People" stands for the will to gain back power to the people.
In 1989 after forty years of existence the East German state - GDR broke down. What once started as a vision of a class free society failed in it´s real existence. Nevertheless it was the intention of the most demonstrators to create a just society on the basis of true Socialism. It became clear very soon, that this intention was just an illusion. Right after the fall of the Berlin Wall started a process of adopting the values of the Western capitalist consumerist society.

The contemporary context
Re staging the demonstration transforms it to the specific context of the USA. The concept of RG is an artistic "readymade" in form of a political demonstration. This shift of context can be described as a creative anachronism. Re-staging is a mode of understanding. It opens spaces for reflexive consideration of the current situation.
The current global financial and economical crisis brings up similar questions: how can social inequality be solved and how does this society affect the individual sphere? Is the capitalist economical practice of expansion and competition the ideal model for a sustainable development? How can society be redefined as a model of participation and action?
In front of the background of parallel societies and excluded classes there is an increasing need for a broad discourse and critical awareness.

Columbus Ohio 2009
 
see video here:
click here for more images on flickr:
 
click here for press release (PDF)
contact us for images in 300dpi resolution
 
have a look at the catalogue of Descent To Revolution (PDF)
 
link to interview with James Voorhies, curator

English
home
Projekte
Ausstellungen
Texte
Videos
Kataloge/Editionen
Kontakt

 

The Readymade Demonstration
re-staging the East German peaceful revolution

ein Projekt im Rahmen von Descent To Revolution des Bureau For Open Culture


REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT (RG) organisierte eine performative Aktion im Stadtzentrum von Columbus Ohio. Die Teilnehmer ließen eine der Ostdeutschen Demonstrationen des Herbstes 1989 wiedererstehen. Dahinter steht die Idee, eine Demonstration als Kulturtechnik zu begreifen.

Die Demonstration nutzt die originalen Slogans von 1989. Dennoch geht es nicht um Geschichte, sondern um die Wahrnehmung der individuellen gesellschaftlichen Rolle.

Im Vorfeld der Demonstration veranstaltete die RG einen Banner- Workshop. Dessen Teilnehmer waren eingeladen, sich nach einer offenen Diskussion an der Herstellung der Banner zu beteiligen.

der historische Kontext
Die Friedliche Revolution von 1989 führte zum Fall des Eisernen Vorhanges und veränderte die geopolitische Landschaft nachhaltig. Der Hauptslogan der Bewegung "Wir sind das Volk" steht für den Willen der Menschen, sich von Bevormundungen zu emanzipieren.
1989 brach die DDR nach 40 Jahren zusammen. Was einst als Vision einer klassenfreien Gesellschaft begonnen hatte, schlug in der realen Existenz fehl. Dennoch war die ursprüngliche Absicht vieler Demonstranten die Schaffung einer gerechteren Gesellschaft auf der Grundlage eines echten Sozialismus. Schnell wurde klar, dass dieser Wunsch eine Illusion bleib. Nach dem Fall der Berliner Mauer begann unmittelbar ein Prozess der Anpassung and die Werte der westlichen Konsumgesellschaft.

der zeitgenössische Kontext
Die Neuinszenierung der Demonstration überträgt sie in den spezifischen Kontext der USA. Das Konzept der RG ist ein künstlerisches "readymade" in Form einer politischen Demonstration. Diese Kontextverschiebung kann als kreativer Anachronismus gelten. Wiederaufführung ist eine Art des Verstehens. Sie öffnet Raum für Reflexionen zur gegenwärtigen Situation.
Die globale Finanzkrise hat zu ähnlichen Fragestellungen geführt: Wie kann soziale Ungleichheit ausgeglichen werden, und wie wirkt sich Gesellschaft auf die persönliche Sphäre aus? Ist die kapitalistische Wirtschaftspraxis der Expansion und des Wettbewerbes das ideale Model für eine nachhaltige Entwicklung? Wie kann Gesellschaft als ein Modell für Teilhabe und Aktivität neu definiert werden?
Vor dem Hintergrund von Parallelgesellschaften und ausgegrenzter Klassen entsteht ein wachsender Bedarf nach einer breiten inhaltlichen Auseinandersetzung und für ein kritisches Bewusstsein.

 

 
Columbus Ohio 2009

 

see video here:
click here for more images on flickr:
 
click here for press release (PDF)
contact us to get images in 300dpi resolution
 
have a look at the catalogue of Descent To Revolution (PDF)

 

link zum Interview mit James Voorhies, Kurator
   
zurück