deutsch
home
Projects
Exhibitions
Texts
Videos
Publications
Contact
Contact

 

 

CURATING DEGREE ZERO ARCHIVE
revisited by REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT

Halle fuer Kunst, Lueneburg


Project in co-operation with the University of Lueneburg/Cultural Studies Faculty

Special approaches are called for to exhibit an archive. What contents are to be included? How are these contents to be sorted and presented, how are they to be made accessible and how can they be expanded?

Barnaby Drabble and Dorothee Richter have built up an open archive compiling new approaches to curatorial practices with a special focus on critical and experimental trends. Up to now, the archive comprises materials (catalogues, articles, videos, CDs, images, and websites) dealing with the approaches of around 60 international curators and curatorial groups.

Since 2003 the archive,as well as the website www.curatingdegreezero.org belonging to it, have been worked up and presented in the form of a travelling exhibition. It could have been viewed in Basle, Geneva, Bremen, Linz, and Bristol. After Lueneburg, the tour will continue to Birmingham, Sunderland, London, Berlin and Edinburgh.

The underlying idea of the archive is to gather and make available information that is difficult to access. The website provides a navigation structure for the users of the archive, which serves as a basis for scientific and practice-oriented research.

In contrast to the stops until now, the archive will be presented by an artist-duo in Lueneburg. Since 1996 Martin Keil (D) and Henrik Mayer (D) have been working under the name of REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT. They will newly sort the archive and make it more easily accessible and useable for the interested public for various study purposes by means of a specially arranged exhibition display.
The REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT grasps itself as an artistic group working at the interface of art and society. The group pursues a curatorial practice focussing on education and research and, in this context, presents forms of artistic self-organisation in Japan. On the occasion of the opening, the REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT will present their current publication "Autonom ist noch nicht einmal der Mond (Not even the moon is autonomous)" created during their research stay in Japan.

Concept CDZA: Dorothee Richter and Barnaby Drabble
Production Lueneburg: Halle fuer Kunst eV and Kunstraum of the University of Lueneburg
Exhibition display: REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT
Selection of participants: Bettina Steinbruegge, Ulf Wuggenig and REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT
Co-operation: Katrin Glinka, Anja Hitze, Ines Meyerhoff, Britt Narr, Catharina Rahlff-Mackeprang, Cora Verfuerth (students of the University of Lueneburg)
Music: Mental Groove Records, Geneva

 
 
 
   
back

english
home
Projekte
Ausstellungen
Texte
Videos
Kataloge/Editionen
Kontakt

 

 

CURATING DEGREE ZERO ARCHIVE
revisited by REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT (D)

12.02. - 06.03.2005

Halle fuer Kunst,
Reichenbachstr. 2,
21335 Lueneburg


Projekt in Kooperation mit der Universitaet Lueneburg/FB Kulturwissenschaften

Ein Archiv auszustellen bedarf spezieller Herangehensweisen. Welche Inhalte nimmt es auf? Wie wird es sortiert, wie wird es praesentiert, wie wird es zugaenglich gemacht und wie laesst es sich erweitern?

Barnaby Drabble und Dorothee Richter haben ein offenes Archiv aufgebaut, das neue Ansaetze kuratorischer Praxen mit besonderem Schwerpunkt auf kritische und experimentelle Tendenzen versammelt. Es umfasst bisher Material (Kataloge, Artikel, Videsos, CD's, Bilder und Web-Sites) in Bezug auf die Vorgehensweise von ca. 60 internationalen Kuratoren und Kuratoren-Gruppierungen.

Seit 2003 wurde das Archiv und die dazugehoerige website www.curatingdegreezero.org aufbereitet und in Form einer Wanderausstellung praesentiert. Bisher war es in Basel, Genf, Bremen, Linz und Bristol zu sehen. Nach seiner Station in Lueneburg tourt es weiter nach Birmingham, Sunderland, London, Berlin und Edinburgh.

Der grundlegende Gedanke des Archivs ist es, Informationen zu buendeln und zugaenglich zu machen, die nur schwer verfuegbar sind. Ueber die Webseite wird eine Navigations-Struktur fuer die NutzerInnen des Archivs zur Verfuegung gestellt, die als Grundlage fuer eine wissenschaftliche und praxisorientierte Forschung dient.

In Abweichung von der Praxis auf den vorherigen Stationen wird die Praesentation des Archivs in Lueneburg einem Kuenstler-Duo ueberantwortet. Martin Keil (D) und Henrik Mayer (D) arbeiten seit 1996 unter dem Namen REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT. Sie werden das Archiv neu sortieren und durch ein speziell angeordnetes Ausstellungsdisplay dem interessierten Publikum fuer unterschiedliche Studienzwecke leicht zugaenglich und nutzbar machen.
Die REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT versteht sich als ein kuenstlerischer Zusammenschluss an der Schnittstelle von Kunst und Gesellschaft. Sie verfolgen eine kuratorische Praxis, die auf Bildung und Forschung fokussiert und stellen in diesem Zusammenhang Formen kuenstlerischer Selbstorganisation in Japan vor. Zu der Eroeffnung praesentiert die REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT ihre aktuelle Publikation "Autonom ist noch nicht einmal der Mond", die im Rahmen ihres Forschungsaufenthaltes in Japan entstanden ist.


Konzept CDZA: Dorothee Richter und Barnaby Drabble
Produktion Lueneburg: Halle fuer Kunst eV und Kunstraum der Universitaet Lueneburg
Ausstellungsdisplay: REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT
Auswahl der neuen Teilnehmer: Bettina Steinbruegge, Ulf Wuggenig und REINIGUNGSGESELLSCHAFT
Kooperation: Katrin Glinka, Anja Hitze, Ines Meyerhoff, Britt Narr, Catharina Rahlff-Mackeprang, Cora Verfuerth (Studentinnen Universitaet Lueneburg)
Musik: Mental Groove Records, Genf

 
 
 
   
zurück